Poor man’s Org mode time logging

I never really got used to MobileOrg, and all I really need to do frequently when I’m not near my computer is logging my working hours. Now that I found out that Vim Touch for Android works really well for me (I’m an Evil user anyway), I ended up with the following poor man’s solution:

  1. I have an org.txt file in a Dropbox-synced folder.
  2. To clock a task, I enter its title manually.
  3. I insert a timestamp with C-t (or <C-T> for Vim users), which I bound with the following .vimrc entry: inoremap <C-T> <C-R>=strftime("[%F %a %H:%M]")<CR>
  4. When I’m back at my computer, I manually merge the (few) clocked tasks into my Org file.

Leave a Reply

