No more NetworkManager annoyances thanks to wicd

So far I had been using NetworkManager on my notebook to establish wireless connections. But with KDE 4.1, which I still consider beta, the friendly knetworkmanager frontend was no longer available. The command-line alternative cnetworkmanager worked but wasn’t even capable of using ASCII passwords. Then, I finally realized why my internet connection always got interrupted when starting or ending battery operation. Following the Gentoo Power Management Guide, I had created a “battery” runlevel, and for some strange reason, NetworkManager always got restarted when switching runlevels. Last but not least, it turned out that NetworkManager sometimes even reset my hostname to “noname”, which caused problems e.g. with my X server.

Finally I was fed up with these annoyances and discovered wicd: a daemon that just works, plus a user-friendly user interface.

Leave a Reply

