Poor man’s video conferencing over Skype

Today I joined the KWARC meeting for the first time from remote. We are using Skype with video. I got a webcam, and Michael is just turning his large iMac screen with a built-in webcam towards the group. We had already rehearsed the communication before, but the real problems only become apparent in practice. First, I was 45 minutes late because I got the time shift wrong. And then I lost the connection because I attached the power cord to the computer while conferencing. That’s a problem with the power management and NetworkManager on my Linux box. And some KWARCies will get sore throats because they have to speak up a bit so I can understand them.

Leave a Reply

